Introducing My Latest Album - Gaol

    The years roll on and the Gaelic tradition continues to renew itself. Whilst Lockdown appeared to make time stand still, for creatives across Gaeldom it has presented an opportunity for self-reflection and introspection through creativity. For Lochaber-based Rachel Walker, the fruits of the season are gathered together in Gaol, her first album in ten years.

    With a title evoking love, affection and the human bonds that bind us, the collection reflects just that – a labour of love. Spanning the centuries, the songs include apposite selections from the Gaelic tradition, such as ‘An t-Iarla Diùrach’ (‘The Earl of Jura’), informed by Rachel’s intimate knowledge of Gaelic song as well as contemporary Gaelic songwriting.

    Of the brand-new offerings, three represent collaborations with two of Gaeldom’s finest poets. ‘Caisteal Ghaoilein’ (‘Gylen Castle’), co-written with Tiree-native Flora MacPhail, marks a step forward for the songwriting partnership which brought ‘An Smeòrach’ (‘The Mavis’) to listeners, this time evoking the heroism of Clan Dougal. A contemporary anthem documenting an emotive episode in Highland history.
    Gaol - By Rachel Walker

    Track List

    1. Là Luain 5:53                                        
    2. Tìr is Sàl 2:39
    3. All For You 4:18
    4. Caisteal Ghaoilean 6:08
    5. An t-Iarla Diùrach 4:19
    6. Gun Dòchas 3:57
    7. I Never Knew 4:03
    8. A Phàidirinn a Dhùisg mo Dheòir 3:17
    9. River 4:07
    10. Cuimhneachain 3:52
    11. Thug mi Gaol Dhut, Thug mi Gràdh Dhut 7:53

    Also featured is fresh writing alongside Edinburgh-based Marcas Mac an Tuairneir, the result of two songwriting sessions held at the Scottish Poetry Library, prior to lock-down. ‘Là Luain’ is set to become a timeless classic, a heartbreaker of a ballad recorded alongside Mòd Gold Medallist James Graham. ‘Tìr is Sàl’ is a rollicking modern waulking song, evoking rural life, building on timeless imagery of land and sea.

    The album also features brand new English-language compositions, ‘All For You’ and ‘I Never Knew’, which see Rachel exploring a new, contemporary style. In all, Gaol takes listeners on a journey through the many iterations of love: romantic, familial, of language, land and lore.


    Latest @RachelWlkr

    Rachel Walker 🌹
    I don’t really have the words to describe how this screenshot from last nights @ccfest gig makes me feel. Playing a beautiful piano in a gorgeous venue and singing some of my own songs at an international music festival with such talented musicians was a dream come true....1/2
    Rachel Walker 🌹
    It’s gig day! Having the chance to sing songs from my new album with @AaronHJones @RoryGrindlay_ James Graham @CharlottePrint2 and @BrodickQuartet for @ccfest was a dream come true. It will be shown online tonight at 7.30pm. Tickets available here…
    Rachel Walker 🌹
    A wee celebration of Burns and a clip from a home version of My Love is Like a Red Red Rose in Gaelic and English. Full version on my YouTube channel. #BurnsNightIn #gaelic #scots
    Rachel Walker 🌹
    Posting out album orders this morning at the local post box. Phone box still works and a couple of minutes to read the notices! So grateful for orders, better times are coming ❤️ #HighlandHub #ScottishHighlands #newmusic #singersongwriter #gaol

    Join My Mailing List

    Content and images © Rachel Walker 2021
    Site design by Big Front Door